Skip Navigation

"Bliss was it in that dawn to be alive, but to be young was very heaven!"


We are very fortunate to have extremely hard working governors.
As we’re a church school, the majority of our governors are called ‘foundation governors’.
We also have parent governors, a staff governor, and a Local Authority governor.

The Governing Body has the following core functions;

  • To establish and support the strategic direction of the school
  • To ensure accountability, including supporting and challenging the Headteacher and monitoring targets
  • To ensure upkeep and safety of the school site
  • To ensure good management of the school’s finances

As Grasmere is a Voluntary Aided Church of England School, the Foundation Governors particularly seek that the school serves its community by providing education which is in accordance with the principles and practices of the Church of England, including the promotion of Christian values and faith.

Following a re-structure in July 2018, the Governing Body now operates without sub-committees and meets together about nine times a year.

The Chair of Governors is Richard Attenborough and the Vice Chair is Rod Hutchinson.
The Safeguarding Governor is Andrew Leech.
The Health and Safety Governor is Andrew Leech.
The Whistleblowing Governor is Peter Yates

Governor Type Name Start Date End Date Interest Declared
Foundation Rod Hutchinson (RH) 15/08/2017 15/08/2021 None declared.
Foundation Peter Yates (PY) 03/05/2018 03/05/2022 Trustee of Rydal Hall. Director of University of Cumbria.
Staff Governor Adam Foster (AF) 04/09/2018 04/09/2022 Spouse employee of Wordsworth Trust
Foundation Maggie Patchett (MP) 01/03/2019 01/03/2023 None declared.
Foundation Jane Robinson (JR) 01/09/2019 01/09/2023 Employee of University of Cumbria.
Foundation Richard Attenborough (RA) 05/10/2019 05/10/2023 Rotary Club
LA Governor Andrew Leech (AL) 01/01/2020 01/01/2024 Child in school. Partner regular volunteer in school.
Parent Governor Carly Harding 01/01/2020 01/01/2024 Appointment Pending DBS Clearance
Parent Governor Dominic Kelly 01/01/2020 01/01/2024 Appointment Pending DBS Clearance
Headteacher Ex-Officio Johanna Goode (JG) 01/06/2006 Ongoing Spouse is school business manager. Trustee of Wordsworth Trust.
Foundation Ex-Officio POM* David Wilmot (DW) 01/09/2019 Ongoing None declared.
Foundation   Vacancy \ \ \
POM* is an abbreviation for Presiding Officiating Minister.
Former Governors        
Foundation Jonathan Green (JG) 01/09/2015 01/10/2015 Rydal Hall
Parent Governor Ian Priddle (IP) 01/10/2014 01/04/2016 Employee of YHA
Foundation Martin Campbell (MC) 09/12/2014 01/07/2016 None Declared
Foundation Ex-Officio Penny Driver (PD) 01/02/2016 01/02/2017 None Declared
Foundation Robin Ashcroft (RAH) 05/10/2015 01/07/2017 None Declared
Foundation Jill Halton (JH) 19/09/2016 01/09/2017 None Declared
Staff Governor Nicky Steels (NS) 01/09/2015 01/09/2017 Child in School
Foundation James Richards (JR) 15/08/2017 01/02/2018 None Declared
Foundation John Rickman (JRK) 21/05/2014 01/05/2018 Treasurer of PCC and Treasurer for the Deanery
Staff Governor Cathy Ingle (CI) 29/09/2017 01/07/2018 None Declared
Foundation Ann Jackman (AJ) 14/12/2017 01/07/2018 None Declared
Foundation Gavin Clayton (GC) 27/10/2015 03/12/2018 Child in School
Foundation Ex-Officio POM* Gill Henwood (GH) 26/06/2017 01/01/2019 Husband LDNPA chair
LA Governor Heidi Halliday (HH) 02/11/2015 01/05/2019 None Declared
Parent Governor Jason Hewitt (JH) 14/10/2016 31/08/2019 Child in School
Foundation Carolina Bourgeat (CB) 30/08/2018 30/09/2019 Employee of Rydal Hall

Foundation governors are appointed by the Diocesan Board of Education after consultation with the parish council.
The Local Authority (LA) governor is appointed by South Lakeland Local Committee.
Parent governors are elected by parents of pupils at Grasmere school.

Date of Meeting In Attendance Notes
Sep-18   No meeting
Oct-18 RA, CB, AF, JG, HH, RH, AL, PY.  
Nov-18 RH, RA, JG, HH, AL, PY, CB.  
Dec-18 RA, CB, JG, HH, GH, RH, AL, PY.  
Jan-19   No meeting
Feb-19 RA, CB, JG, RH, AL, PY, MP, AF.  
Mar-19 RA, CB, JG, RH, AL, PY, MP.  
Apr-19   No meeting
May-19 RA, PY, AL, AF, JG.  
Jun-19 RA, PY, AL, MP, RH, AF, JG.  
Jul-19   No meeting
Aug-19   No meeting
Sep-19 RA, JG, DW, PY, AL, AF.  
Oct-19 RA, JG, RH, AL, DW.  
Nov-19 JG, AF, RA, RH, PY, MP, DW, JR. Apologies AL
Dec-19   No meeting
Jan-20 JG, JR, PY, RA, AL, AF, DW, MP, DK. Apologies RH, CH. DK attended as observor

If you have any queries regarding any of this information, please do not hesitate to contact the Clerk to the Governors, Caro Bourgeat, at the school.